françaisEnglishItalianSpanishPortugueseDeutsch简体 中文

La Face de Ciolet

Technical Sheet


This descent is listed V-Vert

Municipality: Touët sur Var
Valley: The Gorges du Cians
IGN map: 3641.OT
Departure altitude: 800m
Length: 450m
Altitude difference: 440m
Cascade Max: 42m
Approach: 1H 15 (1H rise and 15mn flat ... phew!)
Duration: 4H
Back: 20mn
Shuttle service: 1.4 km
Roche: Limestone

Legend Quotation

Route accessible to the greatest number with abseils not exceeding sixty meters.

Descent very vertical with abseils that can approach 100 meters.

Reserved for lovers of verticals, relays full wall and large commuters.

Descent very impressive. DO NOT engage in it without being certain of its technical capabilities and perfect vacuum control.

Warning !

Beware of the falls of Stones. Thoroughly purge the starting surfaces before installing the ropes and make sure to take cover as soon as you get down.

History

Open the 14 October 2017 by Dany (Lion), Christophe (Cactus) and Dominique (Dom)

Origin of name

C This Canyon is located in the RD of the "Ravin du Ciolet" which, same as it, descends directly from the "Bar of Ciolet", itself located at the edge of the "Plateau de Paillers" (pronounce "Paillaisse").

Access

(See "The MOV Access")

Downstream : From Nice, take the N202 towards Dignes. At the crossroads of La Mescla, turn left towards Dignes and Valberg. Pass the village of Touët-sur-var and, 1.5km further, at the intersection with the D28 which goes up the "Gorges du Cians", park immediately in the car park which adjoins the Cians bridge (Photo 01).

Upstream: With the second vehicle, take the D28 back to Touët. Arrived at Touët, we park (Photo 02) and, on foot, from the car park, we take the path at the 36 waymark. We climb up the village (Photo 03), we pass in front of the arrival of the "Canyon de Touët" (Photo 04) and we continue the path to the 38 waymark towards "Thiéry" and "Baisse de Thiéry" (Photo 05). It is the path that goes up to the departure of the "Canyon de Touët" (Photos 06 et 07). Besides, my Cocker (Geezer) shows us the way (Photo 08). We pass the start of the "Canyon de Touët" (Photos 09 et 10) and we keep climbing (Photo 11). At the 39 waymark, we leave the path that leads to "Thiéry" and "Baisse de Thiéry" to take a path that climbs to the left (Photo 12). At the end of 1 climb time, we arrive on the "Plateau de Paillers" at the level of an ancient sheepfold (14, 15 and 16 photos). From there, we take a small-marked-path that goes to the left along the cliff (Photo 17). At the end of 7mn, we arrive above the junction of "Cians" and "Var" (Photo18). We leave on the left the small start of path that leads to the departure of the "Ravin du Ciolet" and we continue our path on the right (Photo 19). After a hundred meters, we leave the trail on the left at the level of a red paint mark on a tree, just in front of a characteristic pine whose trunk seems to split in two (in fact, it is composed of 2 distinct pines) and located on the right of the path (Photos 20 et 21).
From there, we will make a short de-escalation of 3-4mn following the red paint marks and going towards the left (22 to 26 photos), until we find the starting anchorage on rock, at the top of the cliff (Photos 27 et 28). An apero (Photo 29) and Hop! ... on our way.

Return: At the bottom of the scree (Photos 96 et 97), we take a left on the path of the Vésubie canal. After about fifteen minutes, we join a track (Photo 98) that we will go down on the right for 100m until we reach the road which we will take on the right to find the downstream parking in 5mn.

MOV - Access

The Play Ground

Access in Pictures

Descriptive

(See "The Photo Gallery")

O Of course, we start with an apero at the top of the cliff (Photos29) while examining the topography of the places at the foot of the cliff. Already, the look is worth it, but in addition we will understand where we will go once down the cliff. If we go on the right we will be in the "Valley of 5 Marches". Too much on the left and it will be then the "Ravine of Ciolet". That said, these 2 Vallons are equipped and the lengths of rope needed are substantially the same (55m for the "Ravin du Ciolet" and 45m for the "Vallon des 5 Marches"). But ... it's better going down the right Canyon and you would anyway have to improvise an anchorage on tree to go down into the other Canyons.
We start the descent by a small C14 (Photos 33 et 34) which leads to the starting anchorage of the superb C35 (Photo 35).

Caution: It is clear on Photo 35 that there is a crevasse beneath the rope guard. Even with the rope guard, the 2 ropes will get stuck in the bottom of this crevasse and pulling back the ropes will then be impossible. This is what happened to us the day this picture was taken and we had to climb back up... 35m in pendular ... better to have the right equipment for this exercise! (38 and 39 photos)

To avoid this, the last teammate to descend will take care to position the ropes next to this crevasse and not upon it. This descent is a must (Photos 36 et 37) and, once down (Photo 40), we find a mono point anchorage which allows to go down a small C9 (41 to 43 photos).
From there, we will descend by going towards the left in the direction of a bouquet of tall pines, very characteristic in the middle of this vegetation made of scrub and small shrubs (Photo 42 and 44 to 48). Just below these tall pines is a large dead tree (49 to 51 photos) and, right next to it, we will find an anchorage on a tree (Photo 52) which, after a well deserved apero (Photos 53 et 54) will allow to descend a C18 under cover of vegetation (55 to 57 photos). At the foot of this descent (Photo 58), we will follow the wall in RG and we will go towards the beginning of the Canyon of the "Face de Ciolet" (59 to 61 photos). There, an anchorage on the ground (Photo 62) allows to go down into the Canyon with a C19 (63 to 65 photos).
In the Canyon, there is an anchorage on the wall in RG (Photo 66), starting point of a C28 with a fixed deviation in RG (Photos 67 et 68). An anchorage on the wall in RG (Photo 69) gives access to a sloping C42 (Photo 70). We then find in RD an anchorage on a big tree (Photo 71) which makes it possible to go down a small C10 on a sloping scree (72 and 73 photos). We then go down a C34 with a friction at minus 15m (74 to 76 photos). Then follows a small C10 and a C28 with a friction at minus 1m (77 to 80 photos). An anchorage in RD opens a C36 in slope, then an anchorage in RD is the starting point of a beautiful C26 with the mandatory installation of a rope guard at -2m (81 to 83 photos).
We then find an anchorage on a tree to descend a C17 sloping (Photos 84 et 85). We then get into the terminal C44 which decomposes into C31 and C13 (86 to 92 photos).
Then, all that remains is to de-escalate the final scree with an anchorage on a bunch of trees to help (93 to 95 photos). At the bottom of the scree (Photos 96 et 97) we are then on the path of the channel of Cians that we will follow to the left during 15mn until meeting a track (Photo 98) that we'll go right down to the road. The downstream car park is at 5mn on the right.

The Photo Gallery

The Synopsis

MOV - Presentation

Aquatic character

S Dry all year but it must probably run under heavy rain.

Escape

A No known lescape after descending the C35. If there was to be one (it's not sure at all)it would be anyway going in RD and hoping to find a passage between the cliffs in order to get back up on the path... why not?

GTranslate Your license is inactive or expired, please subscribe again!

FrançaisEnglishItalianoEspañolPortuguêsDeutsch简体中文

La Face de Ciolet

Fiche Technique


Cette descente est cotée V-Vert

Commune : Touët sur Var
Vallée : Les Gorges du Cians
Carte IGN : 3641.OT
Altitude de départ : 800m
Longueur : 450m
Dénivelé : 440m
Cascade Max : 42m
Approche : 1H 15 (1H de montée et 15mn à plat… ouf !)
Durée : 4H
Retour : 20mn
Navette de véhicules : 1.4 km
Roche : Calcaire

Légende Cotation

Parcours accessible au plus grand nombre avec des rappels n’excédant pas une soixantaine de mètres.

Descente très verticale avec des rappels pouvant approcher les 100 mètres.

 Réservé aux amoureux des grandes verticales, des relais en pleine paroi et des grands pendulaires.

 Descente très impressionnante. NE PAS s’y engager sans être certain de ses capacités techniques et de sa parfaite maîtrise du vide.

Avertissement

Attention aux chutes de Pierres. Bien purger les surfaces de départ avant d’installer les cordes et veiller à se mettre à l’abri aussitôt arrivé en bas.

Historique

   Ouvert le 14 Octobre 2017 par Dany (Le Lion), Christophe (Cactus) et Dominique (Dom)

Origine du nom

   Ce Canyon est situé en RD du « Ravin du Ciolet » qui, tout comme lui, descend directement depuis la « Barre de Ciolet », elle-même située en bordure du plateau de Paillers (prononcer « Paillaisse »).

Accès

(Voir « Le MOV Accès »)

Aval : Au départ de Nice, prendre la N202 en direction de Dignes. Au carrefour de la Mescla, prendre à gauche en direction de Dignes et Valberg. Passer le village de Touët-sur-var et, 1.5km plus loin, à l’intersection avec la D28 qui remonte les Gorges du Cians, se garer immédiatement sur le parking qui jouxte le pont du Cians (Photo 01).

Amont : Avec le second véhicule, reprendre la D28 pour revenir à Touët. Arrivé à Touët, on se gare (Photo 02) et, à pied, depuis le parking, on prend le chemin à la balise 36. On monte en haut du village (Photo 03), on passe devant l’arrivée du canyon de Touët (Photo 04) et on continue le chemin à la balise 38 en direction de Thiéry et Baisse de Thiéry (Photo 05). C’est le chemin qui monte jusqu’au départ du Canyon de Touët (Photos 06 et 07). D’ailleurs mon Cocker (Geezer) nous montre le chemin (Photo 08). On passe le départ du canyon de Touët (Photos 09 et 10) et on continue à monter (Photo 11). A la balise 39, on quitte le chemin qui mène à Thiéry et Baisse de Thiéry pour emprunter une sente qui monte à gauche (Photo 12). Au bout d’1 heure de montée, on arrive sur le plateau de Paillers au niveau d’une ancienne bergerie (Photos 14, 15 et 16). A partir de là, on prend un petit chemin bien marqué qui part sur la gauche en longeant la falaise (Photo 17). Au bout de 7mn, on arrive au-dessus de l’embouchure du Cians et du Var (Photo18). On laisse sur la gauche le petit départ de sentier qui mène au départ du « Ravin du Ciolet » et on continue notre chemin sur la droite (Photo 19). Après Une centaine de mètres, on quittera le sentier à gauche au niveau d’une marque de peinture rouge sur un arbre, juste en face d’un pin caractéristique dont le tronc semble se dédoubler (composé en réalité de 2 pins distincts) et situé sur la droite du chemin (Photos 20 et 21).
A partir de là, on fera une courte désescalade de 3-4mn en suivant les marques de peinture rouge et en tirant sur la gauche (Photos 22 à 26), jusqu’à trouver l’amarrage de départ sur rocher, en haut de la falaise (Photos 27 et 28). Un apéro (Photo 29) et Hop !… en piste.

Retour : En bas du Pierrier (Photos 96 et 97), on emprunte à gauche le chemin du canal de la Vésubie. Au bout d’une quinzaine de minutes, on rejoint une piste (Photo 98) qu’on descendra sur la droite pendant 100m jusqu’à la route qu’on empruntera à droite pour retrouver le parking aval en 5mn.

Le MOV – Accès

Le Terrain de Jeu

Accès en Images

Descriptif

(Voir « La Galerie de Photos »)

   On commence par prendre un apéro en haut de la falaise (Photos29) tout en examinant la topographie des lieux situés au pied de la falaise. Déjà, le coup d’œil en vaut la peine, mais en plus on va comprendre vers où on devra se diriger une fois en bas de la falaise. Si on part sur la droite on se trouvera dans le « Vallon des 5 Marches ». Trop sur la gauche et ce sera alors le « Ravin du Ciolet ». Ceci dit, ces 2 Vallons sont équipés et les longueurs de corde nécessaires sont sensiblement les mêmes (55m pour le Ravin du Ciolet et 45m pour Le Vallon des 5 Marches). Mais bon… autant descendre le bon vallon et il vous faudrait de toute façon improviser un amarrage sur arbre pour descendre dans les autres vallons.
On entame la descente par une petite C14 (Photos 33 et 34) qui mène au relais de départ de la superbe C35 (Photo 35).

Attention : On voit bien sur la Photo 35 qu’il y a une crevasse sous le protège corde. Même avec le protège corde, les 2 cordes iront se coincer au fond de cette crevasse et le rappel de la corde sera alors impossible. C’est ce qui nous est arrivé le jour où cette photo a été prise et nous avons dû remonter… 35m en pendulaire… mieux vaut avoir le bon matériel ! (Photos 38 et 39)

Pour éviter cela, le dernier descendeur prendra soin de positionner les cordes à côté de cette crevasse. Cette descente est un must (Photos 36 et 37) et, une fois en bas (Photo 40), on trouve un mono point qui permet de descendre une petite C9 (Photos 41 à 43).
A partir de là, on désescaladera en tirant sur la gauche en direction d’un bouquet de grands pins très caractéristique au milieu de cette végétation faite de broussailles et de petits arbustes (Photo 42 et 44 à 48). Juste sous ces grands pins se trouve un gros arbre mort (Photos 49 à 51) et, juste à côté de ce dernier, on trouvera un amarrage sur arbre (Photo 52) qui, après un apéro bien mérité (Photos 53 et 54) permettra de descendre une C18 sous couvert de végétation (Photos 55 à 57). Au pied de cette dernière (Photo 58), on longera la paroi en RG et on se dirigera vers le départ du vallon de la Face de Ciolet (Photos 59 à 61). Là, un amarrage au sol (Photo 62) permet de descendre dans le vallon par une C19 (Photos 63 à 65).
Dans le vallon, on trouve un amarrage sur paroi en RG (Photo 66), point de départ d’une C28 avec une déviation fixe en RG (Photos 67 et 68). Un amarrage sur paroi en RG (Photo 69) ouvre sur une C42 en déclive (Photo 70). On trouve alors en RD un amarrage sur un gros arbre (Photo 71) qui permet de descendre une petite C10 sur un pierrier en déclive (Photos 72 et 73). On descend ensuite une C34 avec un frottement à -15m (Photos 74 à 76). Suit alors une petite C10 et une C28 avec un frottement à-1m (Photos 77 à 80). Un amarrage en RD ouvre une C36 en déclive, puis un amarrage en RD est le point de départ d’une belle C26 avec la pose obligatoire d’un protège corde à -2m (Photos 81 à 83).
On trouve alors un amarrage sur arbre pour descendre une C17 en déclive (Photos 84 et 85). On attaque ensuite la C44 terminale qui se décompose en C31 et C13 (Photos 86 à 92).
Puis, il ne reste qu’à désescalader le pierrier final avec un amarrage sur un bouquet d’arbres pour s’y aider (Photos 93 à 95). En bas du pierrier (Photos 96 et 97) on se trouve alors sur le chemin du canal du Cians qu’on suivra à gauche pendant 15mn jusqu’à rencontrer une piste (Photo 98) qu’on descendra à droite jusqu’à la route. Le parking aval se trouve à 5mn sur la droite.

La Galerie Photos

Le Synopsis

Le MOV – Présentation

Caractère Aquatique

   Sec toute l’année mais il doit probablement couler sous de fortes pluies.

Échappatoire

   Aucune échappatoire connue après avoir descendu la C35. S’il devait y en avoir une (ce n’est pas sûr du tout), ce serait de toute façon en RD en espérant trouver un moyen de remonter sur le chemin, entre les falaises… pourquoi pas ?