françaisEnglishItalianSpanishPortugueseDeutsch简体 中文

L’Etrier du Diable

The film

Preparation, Opening and Descent of "l'Etrier du Diable"

Technical Sheet


This descent is rated V-Black

Municipality: Rigaud
Valley: The Gorges du Cians
IGN map: 3641.OT
Departure altitude: 900m
Length: 750m
Altitude difference: 520m
Cascade Max: 158m
Approach: 40mn
Duration: 5H
Back: 1mn
Shuttle service: 11 km
Roche: Limestone

Legend Quotation

Route accessible to the greatest number with abseils not exceeding sixty meters.

Descent very vertical with abseils that can approach 100 meters.

Reserved for lovers of verticals, relays full wall and large commuters.

Descent very impressive. DO NOT engage in it without being certain of its technical capabilities and perfect vacuum control.

Warning !

Beware of the falls of Stones. Thoroughly purge the starting surfaces before installing the ropes and make sure to take cover as soon as you get down.

History

Open the 09 April 2017 by Dany (Le Lion), Christophe (Cactus) et Dominique (Dom)

Origin of name

Po reach the great pendular of 158m, we must progress along a vertical wall from the anchorage of "Les Angles". For this, we have installed a fixed handrail cable equipped with horse stirrups to serve as pedals for the passage of each anchorage. This mini Via Ferrata has then become (after some aperitifs) a "Via Etriata". As for the relationship with the devil, it becomes quickly obvious as soon as we engage on it.

Access

(See "The MOV Access")

"L'Etrier du Diable" is a variant of "Les Angles". They both have a common departure: "The Apero Area No. 1". It can be accessed by 2 paths: -Either by passing through the "Ravin des Pyramides".
- Or going through "La Falaise". Access by "La Falaise" is described here. Access by the "Ravin des Pyramides" is described in the topo of "Les Angles".

Downstream : From Nice, take the N202 towards Dignes. At the crossroads of La Mescla, turn left towards Dignes and Valberg. Pass the village of Touët-sur-Var and, 1.5km further, turn right on the D28 going up the "Gorges du Cians". After 1.8km, park on the right on a good car park that can accommodate several vehicles (Photo 01).

Upstream: With the second vehicle, continue on the D28 still towards Valberg. Just after the first tunnel, turn left onto the road to Rigaud. Cross the village and, just at the exit, turn left onto a small asphalt road that goes up to the Dina plateau. Because of its northern exposure, this road can be snow-covered part of the winter. Special equipment may be required. Once on the Dina plateau (sunny all day)we continue for 1.5km to park on the right just after the chapel St Sauveur (02 and 03 photos). At the 188 at the waymark located in front of the chapel, take the path that goes down to the "Canyon de Gilette" (Photo 04). After 100m, at the level of a pine bearing a blue mark, we leave the path on the left to take a small path that goes down between the trees (Photo 05). From there, we will follow the blue marks. Quickly, we arrive at a clearing we cross (Photos 06 et 07) to go up in front following the path that slants to the right (Photos 08 et 09). At the top of this small ridge, we will leave a house on our left (10 photo) and we will continue (11 photo) to arrive immediately on the flat area where the path (little marked) goes to the left (12 photo). It then goes down slightly (13 photo) to join a track that we will follow on the right (Photo 14). 100m further on, in a big left turn, we leave the track to round a big mound of stones on the right (Photo 15). We then follow a small path, on the left (Photo 16), which runs along the cliff (Photos 17 et 18) and leads in 5mn to the double pylon, strategic crossroads for access to different canyons (Photo 19). Here we can:
- Either go to the left between the 2 piles of stones and follow the vegetation towards the "Ravin de la Source" and the "Ravin de la Soif".
-Or walk straight ahead of the pylon and follow the ridge line towards the "Ravin des Pyramides", "Les Angles" (So ​​also the "Etrier du Diable",the "Barring Amont de Ciaudans" and the "Grotte"). So we will pass in front of the pylon (Photo 20) and follow the blue marks around the scree cone (21 to 23 photos). At the end of the ridge (Photo 24), and 50m before the departure of the "Canyon de Ciaudans" (marked with rubalise in Right Bank), we leave on the left the departure of the "Ravin des Pyramides" materialized by 2 pins marked with the painting Red. We continue straight (Photo 25) and we enter the pine forest on the summit plateau (Photo 26). From here, we follow the red paint marks (26 to 29 photos) and we quickly come out on the western ridge of the plateau (Photo 30). There, at the level of a ruin, we will abandon the red marks that continue along the cliff towards the start of the "Barring Amont de Ciaudans" and the "Grotte". We will follow the blue marks crossing the ruin (Photos 31 et 32) that lead us, in minutes (33 to 35 photos)to the departure anchorage (Photos 36 et 37). A mono point (Photo 38) allows us to go down a C4 that leads to the anchorage of a beautiful C30 where the linstallation of a rope guard is mandatory (Photos 39 et 40). At the foot of the C30, we will follow the wall in Left Bank (Photo 41) over a few tens of meters until you find an anchorage on the wall (Photo 42) which allows to descend a C26 (Photos 43 et 45). At the bottom of this C26 we will leave in Left Bank following the blue marks and going down slightly (Photo 46). Arrived at a big pine with a red mark (the only one in the area) we will go down on the right (Photos 47 et 48) about thirty meters then we will follow the cliff to the left on a few tens of meters (Photos 49 et 50) to find an anchorage on the ground (Photos 51 et 52) and get down a C22 (Photo 53). About twenty meters down and on the right is "L'Aire d'Apero N ° 1" (Photo 54).

Return: We arrive directly on the road, 50m from the downstream parking, located on the left.

MOV - Access

The Play Ground

Access in Pictures

Descriptive

(See "The Photo Gallery")

DFrom "Apero Area N ° 1", we go down a C25 (Photo 55) to arrive at "Apero Area N ° 2" (Photo 56).
Note: We advise you not to pull back the rope immediately after arriving at "Apero Area N ° 2". Indeed, in the eventuality where one of the teammates would choose to give up, it will be safer for him going back up by being tied to this rope (See the chapter "Escape").
When first arrived there, we had the unpleasant surprise to note that an ugly scree overhung the departure of the cliff. It was obviously not possible to descend below this scree and we had no choice but to cover the ground with a wire mesh to secure it. Initially, we thought we had to secure a small corridor enough to access the cliff. unfortunately, we quickly realized that we had to secure the entire sector and, in the end, we ended up covering ... not less than 50M² (57 to 67 photos) before we could descend it ... to the ninth outing only. Since "The Apero Area N ° 2" it will be necessary to descend a C6 on our beautiful wire mesh to find an anchorage in Left Bank, immediately at the start of the cliff, which will allow to go down another C6 leading to the anchorage of the C95 of the departure of "Les Angles".

Note: Initially, we have installed this anchorage at the top of the cliff because of friction. Now that the wall is covered by the wire mesh, the friction becomes very negligible and one can directly descend the 12m which separate "Apero Area No. 2" from the anchorage of the C95.

To descend "L'Etrier du Diable" do not descend the C95 but progress along the wall in RIght Bank to go, at the end, seek the anchorage of the C158 (Photo 130). For this purpose, we have laid a mini Via Ferrata of 5.18m long. In order to be able to help the passage of each anchorage, we have installed stirrups of horse as pedals, which had the effect of transforming our "Via Ferrata" into "Via Etriata" (71 to 73 photos). We can say that the installation of the Via Etriata was somewhat ... aerial (74 to 80 photos). After a good apero (81 to 83 photos) we put on warm clothes (84 to 93 photos) and we left "L'Apero Area N ° 2" (Photos 94 et 95). The progression on Via Etriata (96 to 109 photos) is easy enough if you forget you see the road and the Cians between your feet 300m lower. There is a mini cornice to put the tip of the feet and tall people will have little to use the stirrups. But, for the garden gnomes ...

Once at the end of the Via Etriata, 3 choices are available to you:

1-To go back up
2-To descend directly from the anchorage chain. It's less fun because you will touch the wall in the last 40m. Warning ! In this option, you must imperatively put a rope protector at the break of the wall. THIS IS ESSENTIAL ! This is the option we have chosen for the first downhill and, in the "MOV Presentation", we can perfectly see our large yellow rope protector.
3-To put the rope in the 2 fixed deviations (Photos 110 et 113). This is the option that must be chosen because you will be able to take advantage of the spider's thread all the way down to the bottom ... and the bottom is far away (114 to 126 photos). The passage of the second deviation is a little technical and energy demanding (You can see in the "MOV Presentation" that I had to try 3 times but,down the road, it goes okay). We have installed a fixed rope guard at the break of the wall (a car mat) (113 and 121 photos). Be sure to position correctly your rope when passing the break of the wall. And ... have a good trip!

Do not forget the gloves and the ideal remains to wet the rope at the fountain of the upstream parking at Saint Sauveur Chapel.

Once down (Photos 127 et 128), we start in Right Bank and we follow the blue marks during 4-5mn while going down slightly (131 to 140 photos). We then get to a small scree of about 2m wide (Photo 141) that we will descend on a dozen meters. There, the scree comes out of the vegetation and we will leave it in Right Bank still following the blue marks (Photo 142). We climb up a small hill (Photo 143) on which there is an anchorage on a tree (144 to 147 photos), departure point of the C28 (Photos 148 et 149). Then follows a C39 (150 to 152 photos) down to an anchorage in Left Bank (Photo 153). From there, we will go down only 5m (friction requires) to find the anchorage of the C35 (154 to 157 photos). Finally, a C32 (158 to 160 photos) take us to the road that will be followed on the left on 50m to find the downstream parking (161 and 162 photos).

The Photo Gallery

The Synopsis

Aquatic character

S Dry all year.

Escape

P For those who would change their minds at the top of the cliff, it is possible to redo, in the opposite direction, the access path through the "Ravin des Pyramides" (see the topo of "Les Angles"). For this purpose it is advisable not to remove immediately the rope which allows to descend the C25 from "Area Apero N ° 1". In fact, we could perfectly go back up without rope but it is safer with. Once you return to the area of ​​Apéro N ° 1 ", follow the contours to the right following the blue marks. Once at the end of the pine forest, you get to the "Ravin des Pyramides". There, you can:
-Either go down it (Max cascade = 80m in pendular)
- Or go back up through the pine forest in Right Bank. It's a little steep but it goes okay. Count approximately 2H to descend or 2H30 to return to the upstream parking.

GTranslate Your license is inactive or expired, please subscribe again!

FrançaisEnglishItalianoEspañolPortuguêsDeutsch简体中文

L’Etrier du Diable

Le Film

Préparation, Ouverture et Descente de L’Etrier du Diable

Fiche Technique


Cette descente est cotée V-Noir

Commune : Rigaud
Vallée : Les Gorges du Cians
Carte IGN : 3641.OT
Altitude de départ : 900m
Longueur : 750m
Dénivelé : 520m
Cascade Max : 158m
Approche : 40mn
Durée : 5H
Retour : 1mn
Navette de véhicules : 11 km
Roche : Calcaire

Légende Cotation

Parcours accessible au plus grand nombre avec des rappels n’excédant pas une soixantaine de mètres.

Descente très verticale avec des rappels pouvant approcher les 100 mètres.

 Réservé aux amoureux des grandes verticales, des relais en pleine paroi et des grands pendulaires.

 Descente très impressionnante. NE PAS s’y engager sans être certain de ses capacités techniques et de sa parfaite maîtrise du vide.

Avertissement

Attention aux chutes de Pierres. Bien purger les surfaces de départ avant d’installer les cordes et veiller à se mettre à l’abri aussitôt arrivé en bas.

Historique

   Ouvert le 09 Avril 2017 par Dany (Le Lion), Christophe (Cactus) et Dominique (Dom) 

Origine du nom

   Pour accéder au grand pendulaire de 158m, il faut progresser le long d’une paroi verticale depuis le relais des Angles. A cet effet, nous avons installé une main courante fixe en câble équipée d’étriers de cheval pour servir de pédales au passage de chaque amarrage. Cette mini Via Ferrata est ainsi devenue (après quelques apéros) une « Via Etriata ». Quant au rapport avec le diable, il devient rapidement évident dès qu’ on s’engage dessus.

Accès

(Voir « Le MOV Accès »)

« L’Etrier du Diable » étant une variante des « Angles », ils ont tous deux un départ commun : « L’Aire d’Apéro N°1 ». On peut y accéder par 2 chemins : -Soit en passant par le « Ravin des Pyramides ».
-Soit en passant par « La Falaise » L’accès par « La Falaise » est décrit ici. L’accès par « Le Ravin des Pyramides » est décrit dans le topo des « Angles».

Aval : Au départ de Nice, prendre la N202 en direction de Dignes. Au carrefour de la Mescla, prendre à gauche en direction de Dignes et Valberg. Passer le village de Touët-sur-var et, 1.5km plus loin, prendre à droite la D28 qui remonte les Gorges du Cians. Après 1.8km, se garer à droite sur un bon parking pouvant accueillir plusieurs véhicules (Photo 01).

Amont : Avec le second véhicule, continuer sur la D28 toujours en direction de Valberg. Juste après le premier tunnel, prendre à gauche la route qui monte à Rigaud. Traverser le village et, juste à la sortie, prendre à gauche une petite route goudronnée qui monte au plateau de Dina. En raison de son exposition Nord, cette route peut être enneigée une partie de l’hiver. Des équipements spéciaux peuvent alors être requis. Une fois arrivé sur le plateau de Dina (ensoleillé toute la journée), on continuera pendant 1.5km pour se garer à droite juste après la chapelle St Sauveur (Photos 02 et 03). A la balise 188 située devant la chapelle, emprunter le chemin qui descend vers le canyon de Gilette (Photo 04). Au bout de 100m, au niveau d’un pin portant une marque bleue, on quittera le sentier à gauche pour emprunter une petite sente qui descend entre les arbres (Photo 05). A partir de là, on suivra les marques bleues. Rapidement, on arrive à une clairière qu’on traverse (Photos 06 et 07) pour remonter en face en suivant la sente qui oblique vers la droite (Photos 08 et 09). En haut de cette petite crête, on laissera une maison sur notre gauche (photo 10) et on continuera (photo 11) pour arriver tout de suite sur la zone de plat où la sente (peu marquée) oblique sur la gauche (photo 12). Elle redescend ensuite légèrement (photo 13) pour rejoindre une piste qu’on suivra à droite (Photo 14). 100m plus loin, dans un virage à gauche bien marqué, on quitte la piste pour contourner un gros monticule de pierres par sa droite (Photo 15). On suit alors une petite sente, à gauche (Photo 16), qui longe la falaise (Photos 17 et 18) et mène en 5mn au double pylône, carrefour stratégique pour l’accès à différents canyons (Photo 19). Là, on peut :
-soit partir vers la gauche entre les 2 tas de pierres et longer la végétation en direction des Ravins de la Source et de la Soif.
-soit continuer tout droit devant le pylône et suivre la ligne de crête en direction du Ravin des Pyramides, des Angles (donc également de l’Etrier du Diable, du Barring Amont de Ciaudans et de la Grotte). On passera donc devant le pylône (Photo 20) et on suivra les marques bleues qui contournent le cône d’éboulis (Photos 21 à 23). Au bout de la ligne de crête (Photo 24), et 50m avant le départ du Canyon de Ciaudans (marqué par des rubalises en RD), on laissera sur la gauche le départ du Ravin des Pyramides matérialisé par 2 pins marqués à la peinture Rouge. On continue tout droit (Photo 25) et on rentre dans la forêt de pins, sur le plateau sommital (Photo 26). A partir de là, on suit les marques de peinture rouge (Photos 26 à 29) et on débouche très vite sur la crête Ouest du plateau (Photo 30). Là, au niveau d’une ruine, on abandonnera les marques rouges qui continuent en longeant la falaise vers le départ du « Barring Amont de Ciaudans » et de « La Grotte ». On suivra les marques bleues qui traversent la ruine (Photos 31 et 32) et nous mènent, en quelques minutes (Photos 33 à 35), à l’amarrage de départ (Photos 36 et 37). Un mono point (Photo 38) permet de descendre une C4 qui mène à l’amarrage d’une belle C30 où la pose d’un protège corde est obligatoire (Photos 39 et 40). Au pied de la C30, on longera la paroi en RG (Photo 41) sur quelques dizaines de mètres jusqu’à trouver un amarrage sur la paroi (Photo 42) qui permet de descendre une C26 en déclive (Photos 43 et 45). En bas de cette C26 on partira en RG en suivant les marques bleues et en descendant légèrement (Photo 46). Arrivé à un grand pin avec une marque rouge (le seul de l’endroit) on descendra sur la droite (Photos 47 et 48) sur une trentaine de mètres puis on longera la falaise vers la gauche sur quelques dizaines de mètres (Photos 49 et 50) pour trouver un amarrage au sol (Photos 51 et 52) et descendre une C22 (Photo 53). Une vingtaine de mètres plus bas et sur la droite se trouve « L’Aire d’Apéro N°1 » (Photo 54).

Retour : On arrive directement sur la route, à 50m du parking aval, situé sur la gauche.

Le MOV – Accès

Le Terrain de Jeu

Accès en Images

Descriptif

(Voir « La Galerie de Photos »)

   Depuis « L’Aire d’Apéro N°1 », on descend une C25 en déclive (Photo 55) pour arriver à « L’Aire d’Apéro N°2 » (Photo 56).
Note : Nous vous conseillons de ne pas rappeler la corde tout de suite une fois arrivé à « L’Aire d’Apéro N°2 ». En effet, dans le cas où un des équipiers choisirait de renoncer, il sera plus en sécurité s’il remonte en étant longé à cette corde (Voir le chapitre « Echappatoire»).
Arrivés là, nous avons eu la mauvaise surprise de constater qu’un vilain pierrier surplombait le départ du cassé. Il n’était évidemment pas envisageable de descendre sous ce pierrier et nous n’avons eu d’autre choix que de poser du grillage pour le sécuriser. Au départ, nous pensions n’avoir à sécuriser qu’un petit couloir suffisant pour accéder au cassé. Bien sûr, nous nous sommes vite rendus compte qu’il fallait sécuriser tout le secteur et, à terme, nous avons fini par poser… pas moins de 50M² de grillage (Photos 57 à 67) avant de pouvoir le descendre… à la neuvième sortie seulement. Depuis « L’Aire d’Apéro N°2 » il faudra descendre une C6 sur notre beau grillage pour trouver un amarrage en RG, tout de suite au départ du cassé, qui permettra de descendre une autre C6 menant au relais de la C95 du départ des « Angles ».

Note : Au départ, nous avons posé cet amarrage en haut du cassé à cause des frottements. Maintenant que la paroi est recouverte par le grillage, le frottement devient très négligeable et on peut tout à fait descendre directement les 12m qui séparent « L’Aire d’Apéro N°2 » du relais de la C95.

Pour descendre « L’Etrier du Diable » il ne faut pas descendre la C95 mais progresser le long de la paroi en RD pour aller, tout au bout, chercher l’amarrage de la C158 (Photo 130). A cet effet, nous avons posé une mini Via Ferrata de 5.18m de long. Afin de pouvoir se délonger au passage de chaque amarrage, nous avons installé des étriers de cheval en guise de pédales, ce qui a eu pour effet de transformer notre « Via Ferrata » en « Via Etriata » (Photos 71 à 73). On peut dire que la pose de la Via Etriata a été quelque peu… aérienne (Photos 74 à 80). Après un bon apéro (Photos 81 à 83) nous avons enfilé des vêtements chauds (Photos 84 à 93) et nous avons quitté « L’Aire d’Apéro N°2 » (Photos 94 et 95). La progression sur la Via Etriata (Photos 96 à 109) est assez facile si on oublie qu’on voit la route et le Cians entre ses pieds 300m plus bas. Il y a une mini corniche pour poser le bout des pieds et les personnes de grande taille n’auront guère à utiliser les étriers. Par contre, pour les nains de jardin…

Une fois à l’extrémité de la Via Etriata, 3 choix s’offrent à vous :

1-Remonter
2-Descendre directement depuis la chaîne d’amarrage. C’est moins rigolo car vous toucherez la paroi dans les derniers 40m. Attention ! Il vous faudra impérativement poser un protège corde à la cassure de la paroi. C’EST INDISPENSABLE ! C’est l’option que nous avons choisie pour la première descente et, dans le « MOV Présentation », on peut parfaitement voir notre grand protège corde jaune.
3-Passer la corde de descente dans les 2 déviations fixes (Photos 110 et 113). C’est l’option qu’il faut retenir car vous pourrez ainsi profiter du fil d’araignée jusqu’en bas… et c’est loin le bas (Photos 114 à 126). Le passage de la deuxième déviation est un peu technique et demandeuse d’énergie (on peut voir dans le « MOV Présentation » que j’ai dû m’y reprendre à 3 fois. Mais bon… ça passe bien). Nous avons mis en place un protège corde fixe à la cassure (un tapis de voiture) (Photos 113 et 121). Veillez à bien y positionner votre corde au passage du cassé. Et… bonne route !

N’oubliez surtout pas les gants et l’idéal reste de mouiller la corde à la fontaine du parking amont, à la chapelle Saint sauveur.

Une fois en bas (Photos 127 et 128), on part en RD et on suit les marques bleues pendant 4-5mn en descendant légèrement (Photos 131 à 140). On coupe alors un petit pierrier d’environ 2m de large (Photo 141) qu’on va descendre sur une dizaine de mètres. Là, le pierrier sort de la végétation et on le quittera en RD en suivant toujours les marques bleues (Photo 142). On monte sur une petite épaule (Photo 143) sur laquelle on trouve un amarrage sur arbre (Photos 144 à 147), départ de la C28 (Photos 148 et 149). On enchaîne avec une C39 (Photos 150 à 152) jusqu’à un amarrage en RG (Photo 153). De là, on ne descendra que 5m (frottement oblige) pour trouver le relais de la C35 (Photos 154 à 157). Enfin, une C32 (Photos 158 à 160) nous amène à la route qu’on suivra à gauche sur 50m pour trouver le parking aval (Photos 161 et 162).

La Galerie Photos

Le Synopsis

Caractère Aquatique

   Sec toute l’année.

Échappatoire

   Pour ceux qui changeraient d’avis en haut du cassé, il est possible de refaire, en sens inverse, le chemin d’accès par le « Ravin des Pyramides » (voir le topo « Les Angles »). A cette fin il est conseillé de ne pas enlever tout de suite la corde qui permet de descendre la C25 depuis « l’Aire d’Apéro N°1 ». En effet, on pourrait parfaitement la remonter sans corde mais c’est plus sécuritaire avec. Une fois revenu à l’aire d’Apéro N°1 », suivez les courbes de niveau vers la droite en suivant les marques bleues. Une fois arrivé au bout de la pinède, vous coupez le ravin des Pyramides. Vous pouvez:
-soit le descendre (Cascade max = 80m en pendulaire)
-soit le remonter à travers la pinède en RD. C’est un peu raide mais ça passe. Compter environ 2H pour le descendre ou 2H30 pour revenir au parking amont.