françaisEnglishItalianSpanishPortugueseDeutsch简体 中文

Le Vallon des 5 Marches

Technical Sheet


This descent is listed V-Vert

Municipality: Rigaud
Valley: The Gorges du Cians
IGN map: 3641.OT
Departure altitude: 800m
Length: 450m
Altitude difference: 440m
Cascade Max: 45m
Approach: 1H 15mn (1H rise and 15mn flat)
Duration: 4H
Back: 20mn
Shuttle service: 1.4 km
Roche: Limestone

Legend Quotation

Route accessible to the greatest number with abseils not exceeding sixty meters.

Descent very vertical with abseils that can approach 100 meters.

Reserved for lovers of verticals, relays full wall and large commuters.

Descent very impressive. DO NOT engage in it without being certain of its technical capabilities and perfect vacuum control.

Warning !

Beware of the falls of Stones. Thoroughly purge the starting surfaces before installing the ropes and make sure to take cover as soon as you get down.

History

Open the 30 September 2017 by Dany (Lion), Christophe (Cactus) and Dominique (Dom). Re-equipped the 03 and 16 December by the Lion and Cactus.

Origin of name

O The race begins with magnificent giant steps that go down towards the Cians Valley.

Access

(See "The MOV Access")

Downstream : From Nice, take the N202 towards Dignes. At the crossroads of La Mescla, turn left towards Dignes and Valberg. Pass the village of Touët-sur-var and, 1.5km further, at the intersection with the D28 which goes up the "Gorges du Cians", park immediately in the car park which adjoins the Cians bridge (Photo 01).

Upstream: With the second vehicle, take the D28 back to Touët. Arrived at Touët, we park (Photo 02) and, on foot, from the car park, we take the path at the 36 waymark. We climb up the village (Photo 03), we pass in front of the arrival of the "Canyon de Touët" (Photo 04) and we continue the path to the 38 waymark towards "Thiéry" and "Baisse de Thiéry" (Photo 05). It is the path that goes up to the departure of the "Canyon de Touët" (Photos 6 et 7). Besides, my Cocker (Geezer) shows us the way (Photo 08). We pass the start of the "Canyon de Touët" (Photos 09 et 10) and we keep climbing (Photo 11). At the 39 waymark, we leave the path that leads to "Thiéry" and "Baisse de Thiéry" to take a path that climbs to the left (Photo 12). At the end of 1 climb time, we arrive on the "Plateau de Paillers" at the level of an ancient sheepfold (14, 15 and 16 photos). From there, we take a small-marked-path that goes to the left along the cliff (Photo 17). At the end of 7mn, we arrive above the junction of "Cians" and "Var" (Photo18). We leave on the left the small start of path that leads to the departure of the "Ravin du Ciolet" and we continue our path on the right (Photo 19). After 150m, we pass in front of the departure of the "Face de Ciolet" indicated by red marks on the trees in RG of the path (Photo 20). We continue for a hundred meters and the path turns to the right uphill. In this bend (indicated by fluorescent yellow paint marks and located just before a very characteristic broken tree) (Photo 21) we will leave the path to go down to the left following the yellow paint marks for a hundred meters (Photos 22 et 23). There, the slope gets accentuated and we find an achorage on tree (Photos 24 et 25). At the bottom of this small abseil in declivity (C12), we will go 6m in RD (Photo 26) to find an anchorage on the rock (Photo 27).

Return: At the bottom of the scree, we take on the left the path of the Vésubie channel. After about fifteen minutes, we join a track that will go down on the right for 100m to the road that will take on the right to find the downstream parking in 5mn.

MOV - Access

The Play Ground

Access in Pictures

Descriptive

(See "The Photo Gallery")

D From the departure anchorage on rock (Photo 27), we go down a C18 (Photo 28) at the bottom of which begins the giant steps (29 to 59 photos). After the C18 of the start, we will link C14-C14-C19 and C31 (29 to 45 photos). At the foot of the C31, we will descend on a dozen meters to get to an anchorage on tree (Photos 47 et 48). From this tree we will descend a C16 then we will make a descent of about twenty meters (49 to 52 photos) to find an anchorage on the ground, starting point of a C25 that finishes the descent of the giant steps (53 59 photos). A short de-escalation of 20m allows to descend in the Canyon, in RG. There is immediately an anchoragee on tree in RD (Photos 60 et 61) which allows to descend a C32 to another anchorage on tree in RD which gives access to a C8 (Photo 63). At the bottom of the C8, there is an anchorage on the wall in RD (Photo 64), starting point of a C15 (Photos 66 et 67) which allows to reach, in RG, the anchorage of the C31 in pendular (Photos 68 et 69). Without being really complicated, starting from this anchorage can be a little tricky for the less experienced. The Leader will be able to easily equip his teammates two meters away from the anchorage, without having them come along further, above the "hole" where they could encounter problems to start from themselves. Doing that way, everyone will be able to start from this anchorage without any difficulty. Once arrived at the bottom of the C31 (Photos 70 et 71) we will go down a small scree on about fifty meters (Photos 72 et 73) down to an anchorage on a tree in RG (Photos 74 et 75). We then go down a C14 (Photo 76) down to an anchorage on a big tree in RD (Photo 77), starting point of a C33 (Photo 78). Then, an anchorage, also on a tree, in RG (Photo 79) allows to descend a C37 (Photos 81 et 82). We then find an anchorage in RD (Photos 83 et 84), starting point of a magnificent C45 (85 to 89 photos). Downstairs is an anchorage in RD (Photo 90) that gives access to a C40 (Photo 91). This leads to the start of a superb C30 (92 to 95 photos). We then arrive at the foot of a monolith, a large block of rock that arived here, one day, falling from the top. An anchorage on tree in RD (Photo 96) allows to easily go down the scree (C38), down to the channel of Cians that will follow on the left (Photos 97 et 98) for about twenty minutes until we reach the road.

The Photo Gallery

The Synopsis

MOV - Presentation

Aquatic character

L The canyon is dry all year round but can run under heavy rain.

Escape

A No known escape after having started descending the giant steps. If there was to be one (it's not sure at all)it would be anyway going in RD and hoping to find a passage between the cliffs in order to get back up on the path... why not?

GTranslate Your license is inactive or expired, please subscribe again!

FrançaisEnglishItalianoEspañolPortuguêsDeutsch简体中文

Le Vallon des 5 Marches

Fiche Technique


Cette descente est cotée V-Vert

Commune : Rigaud
Vallée : Les Gorges du Cians
Carte IGN : 3641.OT
Altitude de départ : 800m
Longueur : 450m
Dénivelé : 440m
Cascade Max : 45m
Approche : 1H 15mn (1H de montée et 15mn à plat)
Durée : 4H
Retour : 20mn
Navette de véhicules : 1.4 km
Roche : Calcaire

Légende Cotation

Parcours accessible au plus grand nombre avec des rappels n’excédant pas une soixantaine de mètres.

Descente très verticale avec des rappels pouvant approcher les 100 mètres.

 Réservé aux amoureux des grandes verticales, des relais en pleine paroi et des grands pendulaires.

 Descente très impressionnante. NE PAS s’y engager sans être certain de ses capacités techniques et de sa parfaite maîtrise du vide.

Avertissement

Attention aux chutes de Pierres. Bien purger les surfaces de départ avant d’installer les cordes et veiller à se mettre à l’abri aussitôt arrivé en bas.

Historique

   Ouvert le 30 Septembre 2017 par Dany (Le Lion), Christophe (Cactus) et Dominique (Dom). Rééquipé les 03 et 16 Décembre par Le Lion et Cactus.

Origine du nom

   On démarre la course par un superbe escalier de géant qui dessine de grandes marches qui descendent vers la vallée du Cians.

Accès

(Voir « Le MOV Accès »)

Aval : Au départ de Nice, prendre la N202 en direction de Dignes. Au carrefour de la Mescla, prendre à gauche en direction de Dignes et Valberg. Passer le village de Touët-sur-var et, 1.5km plus loin, à l’intersection avec la D28 qui remonte les Gorges du Cians, se garer immédiatement sur le parking qui jouxte le pont du Cians (Photo 01).

Amont : Avec le second véhicule, reprendre la D28 pour revenir à Touët. Arrivé à Touët, on se gare (Photo 02) et, à pied, depuis le parking, on prend le chemin à la balise 36. On monte en haut du village (Photo 03), on passe devant l’arrivée du canyon de Touët (Photo 04) et on continue le chemin à la balise 38 en direction de Thiéry et Baisse de Thiéry (Photo 05). C’est le chemin qui monte jusqu’au départ du Canyon de Touët (Photos 6 et 7). D’ailleurs mon Cocker (Geezer) nous montre le chemin (Photo 08). On passe le départ du canyon de Touët (Photos 09 et 10) et on continue à monter (Photo 11). A la balise 39, on quitte le chemin qui mène à Thiéry et Baisse de Thiéry pour emprunter une sente qui monte à gauche (Photo 12). Au bout d’1 heure de montée, on arrive sur le plateau de Paillers au niveau d’une ancienne bergerie (Photos 14, 15 et 16). A partir de là, on prend un petit chemin bien marqué qui part sur la gauche en longeant la falaise (Photo 17). Au bout de 7mn, on arrive au-dessus de l’embouchure du Cians et du Var (Photo18). On laisse sur la gauche le petit départ de sentier qui mène au départ du « Ravin du Ciolet » et on continue notre chemin sur la droite (Photo 19). Après 150m, on passe devant le départ de la face de Ciolet signalée par des marques rouges sur les arbres en RG du chemin (Photo 20). On parcourt encore une centaine de mètres et le sentier oblique vers la droite en montant. Dans ce virage (signalé par des marques de peinture jaune fluo et situé juste avant un arbre cassé très caractéristique) (Photo 21) on quittera le sentier pour descendre à gauche en suivant les marques de peinture jaune pendant une centaine de mètres (Photos 22 et 23). Là, la pente s’accentue et on trouve un amarrage sur arbre (Photos 24 et 25). En bas de ce petit rappel en déclive (C12), on fera 6m en Rd (Photo 26) pour trouver un amarrage sur rocher (Photo 27).

Retour : En bas du Pierrier, on emprunte à gauche le chemin du canal de la Vésubie. Au bout d’une quinzaine de minutes, on rejoint une piste qu’on descendra sur la droite pendant 100m jusqu’à la route qu’on empruntera à droite pour retrouver le parking aval en 5mn.

Le MOV – Accès

Le Terrain de Jeu

Accès en Images

Descriptif

(Voir « La Galerie de Photos »)

   Depuis l’amarrage de départ sur rocher (Photo 27), on descend une C18 (Photo 28) en bas de laquelle débute l’escalier de géant (Photos 29 à 59). Après la C18 du départ, on enchaînera C14-C14-C19 et C31 (Photos 29 à 45). Au pied de la C31, on désescaladera sur une dizaine de mètres pour aller chercher un amarrage sur arbre (Photos 47 et 48). Depuis cet arbre on descendra une C16 puis on fera une désescalade d’une vingtaine de mètres (Photos 49 à 52) pour trouver un amarrage au sol, point de départ d’une C25 qui clos la descente de l’escalier de géant (Photos 53 à59). Une courte désescalade de 20m permet de descendre dans le Vallon, en RG. On y trouve immédiatement un amarrage sur arbre en RD (Photos 60 et 61) qui permet de descendre une C32 jusqu’à un autre amarrage sur arbre en RD qui donne une C8 (Photo 63). En bas de la C8 se trouve un amarrage sur paroi en RD (Photo 64), point de départ d’une C15 (Photos 66 et 67) qui permet d’atteindre, en RG, le relais de la C31 en pendulaire (Photos 68 et 69). Sans être vraiment compliqué, le départ depuis ce relais peut se révéler un peu délicat pour les moins expérimentés. Le Leader pourra très facilement faire équiper ses équipiers au tout départ du relais, sans les faire venir se longer plus loin, au-dessus du vide où ils pourraient rencontrer des problèmes pour se délonger seuls. De cette manière, tout le monde pourra franchir ce relais sans aucune difficulté. Arrivés en bas de la C31 (Photos 70 et 71) on descendra un petit pierrier sur une cinquantaine de mètres (Photos 72 et 73) jusqu’à un amarrage sur arbre en RG (Photos 74 et 75). On descend alors une C14 (Photo 76) jusqu’à un amarrage sur un gros arbre en RD (Photo 77), point de départ d’une C33 (Photo 78). Puis, un amarrage sur arbre également en RG (Photo 79) permet de descendre une C37 (Photos 81 et 82). On trouve alors un amarrage en RD (Photos 83 et 84), point de départ d’une magnifique C45 (Photos 85 à 89). En bas se trouve un amarrage en RD (Photo 90) qui ouvre une C40 (Photo 91). Celle-ci conduit au départ d’une superbe C30 (Photos 92 à 95). On arrive alors au pied d’un monolithe, gros bloc de rocher qui est venu, un jour, se planter là depuis le sommet. Un amarrage sur arbre en RD (Photo 96) permet de descendre le pierrier (C38) jusqu’au canal du Cians qu’on suivra à gauche (Photos 97 et 98) pendant une vingtaine de minutes jusqu’à rejoindre la route.

La Galerie Photos

Le Synopsis

Le MOV – Présentation

Caractère Aquatique

   Le canyon est sec toute l’année mais il peut couler sous de fortes pluies.

Échappatoire

   Aucune échappatoire connue après avoir entamé l’escalier de géant. S’il devait y en avoir une (ce n’est pas sûr du tout), ce serait de toute façon en RD en espérant trouver un moyen de remonter sur le chemin, entre les falaises… pourquoi pas ?